Connect with us

Local News

Indianapolis Public Schools names Teacher of the Year winners



Indianapolis, Indiana — Indianapolis Public Schools has named two Teacher of the Year winners for 2022.

DaMeisha Fleming, a first-grade teacher at James Whitcomb Riley School 43, earned the award Teacher of the Year winner for 2022, in the elementary school category.

Previously, she has taught fourth and fifth grades, and she also coaches sports and tutors students, IPS said.

A 55-year-old, Paige Sjoerdsma teaches middle school English Language Arts at Butler Lab School and received the award in the secondary school category.

Previously, she taught kindergarten through third grades and is a founding member of the IPS/Butler Lab School’s Racial Equity Team.

“Sjoerdsma and Fleming represent the district’s best ineffective teaching, excellent instruction, and outstanding accomplishments in the class,” IPS Superintendent Dr. Aleesia Johnson said in written remarks.

Both were nominated by their respective principals and selected by a committee of peers.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *