Connect with us

Local News

Indiana primary election fields become visible when the filing period closes



Indianapolis, Indiana – As the Indiana primary filing deadline for 2024 approached, the candidate fields for the two main parties began to take shape.

The Republican presidential contenders for Indiana’s 2024 primary were Nikki Haley and Donald Trump. The Republicans who made the ballot were limited to them. The lone Democrat on the list is Joe Biden. Representative Dean Phillips of Minnesota, his lone opponent, was not included on the ballot.

The only two Republicans to turn in the required papers in the run for the U.S. Senate seat being left by gubernatorial candidate Mike Braun were Jim Banks and John Rust. Rust’s candidacy is still being challenged in court. He participated in the Democratic primary in 2012 and the Republican primary in 2016, but not the 2020 contest. According to state law, candidates must have participated in their party’s previous two primaries. In December, a district court took Rust’s side. On Monday, the appeal will be heard by the Indiana Supreme Court.

In addition, Democrats will face off against one another in the U.S. Senate primary between clinical psychologist Valerie McCray and lobbyist and former state lawmaker Marc Carmichael.
Governor Eric Holcomb has a limited term, and six Republicans are vying to succeed him in what could be the most prominent primary. Sen. Mike Braun, Lt. Gov. Suzanne Crouch, former President of Indiana Economic Development Corp. Eric Doden, former Secretary of Commerce Brad Chambers, former Attorney General Curtis Hill, and Jaime Reitenour have all filed paperwork to be included on the ballot, as anticipated. Tamie Dixon-Tatum, the current director of civil and human rights for the city of Anderson, is Jennifer McCormick, the former superintendent of public instruction, in the Democratic primary.

At the state party conventions this summer, the parties will select their nominees for attorney general and lieutenant governor.

There are only two members of Indiana’s congressional delegation who do not have primary opponents: Republican Rudy Yakym and Democrat Frank Mrvan. Curtis Godfrey and Pierre Pullins will fight Democrat André Carson. Hugh Doty is Erin Houchin’s opponent on the Republican side, and Jim Baird has four opponents in Charles Brookwalter, Trent Lester, Christopher Lucas, and John Piper. Congresswoman Victoria Spartz is up against ten main opponents. Before her announcement on Monday that she would not be running for reelection, her seat was vacant.

In Indiana, ballot access is based on how well the secretary of state candidates from each party perform. The Libertarian Party is permitted to run on the ballot but is unable to hold a primary due to Jeff Maurer’s 5.7% victory in that year’s election. Instead, the party will nominate every one of its candidates on March 2 at its state convention.

Voter submissions, which concluded on Friday, are not necessarily conclusive. Candidates can submit any challenges to another candidate’s listing on the ballot by noon on February 16. The Indiana Election Commission will handle the situation if it occurs. All candidates must withdraw from a primary by the same time, except presidential contenders, who have until noon on February 22.

The date of the primary is May 7. The deadline to register to vote is April 8. April 9–May 6 is when early voting will take place.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *