Connect with us

Local News

What you should know before the primary election



Bloomington, Indiana – Tuesday’s primary election gives voters one last opportunity to choose the Democratic party’s candidates for mayor, city clerk, and city council of Bloomington.

Voting is available from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Election Day will have 18 polling places, in contrast to early voting, which will only be available at Election Operations. Voters must visit the polling location to which they have been assigned, which information may be found by logging onto their voter portal.

Donald Griffin, a former deputy mayor, Susan Sandberg, a city councilwoman, and Kerry Thomson, the executive director of the Indiana University Center for Rural Engagement, are the Democratic contenders for mayor. The candidates have been selling themselves to voters at forums and debates for months. During these events, they have highlighted minute differences in how they view problems like housing and annexation.

Even though Thomson was in the lead in a Public Policy Polling survey for the BSquare Bulletin conducted in March, a startling 58% of respondents were still unsure. With a total of $105,841 raised over the reporting period from early January to early April, Thomson is in the lead. Contrarily, according to candidate expenditure reports, Sandberg raised $29,732 and Griffin raised $47,373 within the same time frame.

Current council members Matt Flaherty and Stephen Volan, as well as opponents Isak Asare, Andy Ruff, Lois Sabo-Skelton, Ryne Shadday, and Jonas Schrodt, are the Democratic candidates for city council at large, which serves the entire city rather than a particular district.

Prior to being redistricted, Volan represented District 6. There is only one candidate left in District 6, and Volan has decided to compete for an at-large position.

Currently serving councilmembers Kate Rosenbarger and Sue Sgambelluri are running against each other in District 2, incumbent Ron Smith, Conner Wright, and Hopi Stosberg are running against each other in District 3, and Shruti Rana and Jenny Stevens are running against each other in District 5.

Nicole Bolden, the city clerk, is also up for reelection and is running unopposed.

In the general election, all but one of the races are now uncontested, which means that if no one decides to run against the election victors, they may be expected to take office in January. The only election that is now in play is District 3, where Republican candidate Brett Heinisch is running. Challengers from the Republican or Libertarian parties can enter the race through caucuses by July 3, and Independents can file to run if they gather the necessary signatures by June 30.

Joseph Davis, an independent, has filed to run for mayor, although as of early April, he lacked the necessary number of signatures.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *